Posted by: oneyearbook | November 21, 2009

Come to life

Weird thing happened today with the writing. I was working on a fairly pivotal scene that happens to take place on the shore of a pond. I have written, in the past, three scenes that take place at this location, although I don’t think all of them are going to be retained when I finalize a first draft. But anyway – in a writing sense, at least – I have been there a number of times.

So today while writing I was trying to think of new things about the setting that hadn’t been described yet, and I thought to myself, well, I can’t think of any so maybe I should just go down there and take a look, maybe some photos. This was followed by a very long moment in which I tried to place the pond in the actual geography of the area that I live; found that I couldn’t; and realized that I had somehow come to completely believe that this spot, invented by me, actually existed.

Ack! The book is coming to life! Or am I being sucked into it! One or the other. Soon I will be found to believe that my characters are real people, and have to be stopped from calling them up on the telephone for a quick chat.

Leave a Reply

Categories

