Posted by: oneyearbook | October 28, 2009

Linkitude

A couple of lit links that seem to also be linked to my particular project:

First, ‘Who’s Afraid of a Book a Year?‘, at The Globe and Mail; the author makes the rash decision to be a book-a-year type of author and then realizes what a goal he’s set himself. I’ve read a lot of stuff lately about how long it takes people to write novels, succesful novels (Annabel Lyon’s The Golden Mean, which is the most shortlisted of Canadian novels this awards season, took her eight years, for example) and beginning to sort of feel the pressure of this “One Year, One Book,” thing. Especially as other aspects of life – the need to start earning a semi-regular paycheque again, some application stuff that I’ll talk about later on the blog – begin to crowd in close again. Well, there’s still five months left; I’m still hopeful that I’ll have at very least a solid first draft done come March 15, 2010.

Second, Writer’s Digest ran an article called ‘10 Questions Writers Must Ask Before Quitting Their Day Job.’ I think I considered 1, 2, and 3, and there was some worry about #8 (“Do I have the discipline to work independently?”); #9 I felt was covered off as well as it could be; but I think 4, 7, and 10 all could have used a bit more consideration. Not that I wouldn’t have done it anyway – but they all could have used more thought. When I can say, “I’m not worried about getting H1N1 this season because I don’t see enough people to be exposed,” it might have been good to have a stronger plan for human interaction.

Leave a Reply

Categories

