Posted by: oneyearbook | September 23, 2009

The drudgery of the day to day

Lately I’m finding it hard to focus on writing while also having to focus on the drudgery of the day to day. I always knew that during this year I’d have to find part-time work of some sort – and my experience with writing (or, really, not writing) while working full time during part of the summer suggests that it will, indeed, have to be part-time – but when thinking about that I never actually thought that it would be a lot of trouble to find such a thing. After all, I’m pretty well-qualified to do a number of different types of work – I have a degree, I’ve worked in tourism, I’ve worked in communications, I’ve worked as an office admin, I can type like a windstorm (seriously, it’s fast), I’ve worked inside, I’ve worked outside … I have a pretty diverse resume. Apparently, however, I am either a) overqualified and therefore don’t look like a good long-term bet or b) the competition out there right now for even the most menial, underpaid, two-day-a-week job is FEROCIOUS. Seriously, I’ve sent out like 15 applications over the last couple weeks and have gotten exactly one response and even that one doesn’t seem to be going anywhere (yet; I still have my fingers crossed on that one.)

Not trying to throw a pity party over here – I still have enough money to make it through to the new year and a bit beyond –  just trying to explain why I haven’t been blogging much: it pretty much boils down to, I’m grumpy and don’t think I should foist that onto the Internets too too often.

Responses

  1. any interest from the library world? or chapters? what about book stores in sidney?

  2. What? There are book stores in Sidney?


Leave a Reply

Categories

