Posted by: oneyearbook | September 8, 2009

Aftermath

Alright, so the 3-day novel contest is done for the year. My book is done, too. At 11:40 p.m. on Monday night I fell into bed, having saved the thing and closed down the computer. The last 30 minutes were pretty bad – I don’t usually ingest much caffeine and I had a lot over the weekend, and I guess it suppresses your appetite for a while or something, because I didn’t eat much all day and didn’t think it was a problem until around 11 when I was suddenly ravenous, couldn’t consume enough food to fill my poor stomach, and rampaged through the house growling like Godzilla. Boyfriend provided me with cheese-on-toast which finally shut me up, but even after I lay down for bed my stomach was complaining unhappily about the whole situation (not just being hungry, but the large amounts of Rice Krispies and skim milk I’d tried to ladle into it). Fell asleep around 1 and then got up at 11:30 the next morning.

My final word count was 29,227, which I was pretty satisfied with, all told, except that somebody on Twitter said they made it to 51,000, which is … mind-blowing. Anyway I beat my 2004 effort by a full 4,000 words, although I fell into the same trap of not finishing the first draft early enough to do a full line-edit, or even to really read the thing for coherence in any way. At least Part I (of 3) got edited on the first day, so the judges won’t realize that I’ve gone crazy until at least the middle of the novel.

After some thought, I have come up with this handy-dandy description of my book, for anyone interested: it’s like Dr. Horrible + Jane Eyre +The Egyptologist. Hopefully the judges like it. Now I’ve just got to get it printed and sent off by Friday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

