Posted by: oneyearbook | September 5, 2009

3-DAY NOVEL LIVE BLOG

Monday, 10:00 p.m.

And there it is: a first draft. Which means I have two hours in which to attempt to edit some sort of sense into the thing. Which is really, really not enough to manage that, but at least it is complete. There’s at least one scene in there which is … well, pretty bad seems like a polite way to say it, so maybe I should concentrate on that section. First draft word count: 29,500.

Monday, 4:00 p.m.

Lying back in computer chair, staring up at ceiling, trying to will final 3,000 words into being, and crossing fingers that when they appear they can try not to be so stupidly melodramatic as the last 2,000.

Monday, 11:30 a.m.

Bad news: managed to nap despite a heavy dose of caffeine. Limbs feel heavy, draggy. Good news: 22,500 words, and I’m back to thinking that I can wrap it all up in 30,000.

Monday, 8:45 a.m.

So there’s about 15 hours left, and if I want to have any editing time, I need to start hitting a 1,000-word-per-hour or more pace. Cross your fingers!

Monday, 2:15 a.m.

22 hours left; I’ve done about 20,000 words, which would be 2/3 except I’ve counted up what remains and think there’s at least 12,000 words left to go. No sleeping in tomorrow, and no more giving in to distractions.

Sunday, 4:00 p.m.

I’m at 15,600 words for today – not exactly struggling to write, but struggling with desire to do other stuff. Spent time watching True Blood (with some Swedish subtitles, yo!) for a couple hours. The second day’s always supposed to be the doldrums, right? That’s what I’m hearing from other 3dnc’ers on Twitter.

Sunday, 10:00 a.m.

The word count for the first 24 hours was 12,480 – more than a third of my total goal, so I’m ahead of the game. Of course then I slept in this morning, so maybe I’m behind? But now I won’t need a nap this afternoon (but will probably want one anyway) … also there are no pre-cooked meals left in the house so eating should get interesting today.

Saturday, 10:00 p.m.

Good news: working on this 3-day novel is getting me excited to get down to more hard work on my regular novel on Tuesday. That’s what I was kind of hoping for.

Saturday, 2:45 p.m.

Made it to 8,200 words so far today. Need to find a second wind and am attempting to find it with a short power-nap.

Saturday, 11:40 a.m.

I am haunted by the thought of all the other possible plots I could have pursued – not because I think they’re better, necessarily; I actually did a pros and cons list when I was trying to narrow down a choice for the weekend – but because I am, as always, convinced they would have been easier. Of course they wouldn’t. No plot makes a novel easy to write, especially in 72 hours. Intend to continue this tea/lunch break until noon and then be back at it interrupted for a few hours.

Saturday, 11:15 a.m.

About 6,300 words done – taking a morning tea/cold pizza break. This morning’s work was spent on finishing a certain structural element of the novel – the main character is retelling, with her own distinct point of view, four mythological stories, and I wanted to write those parts so I could see where they went thematically, as the novel is intended to have four sections, each grouped around one of those stories. They went pretty well and I’m glad to have them over with as they are pretty much the only part of the book that required any research, even if it was only a hurried glance at Wikipedia. (My knowledge of Greek mythology is not as strong as I might like.) Good news: if I keep my word-count goal of 30,000 words, I’m 1/5 done! However Twitter has revealed to me that there are people out there hitting for 70,000 words. That’s more than I’ve managed on my real novel in the last three months! Am I being under-ambitious in my length goal? Now I don’t know.

Saturday, 8:30 a.m.

Didn’t sleep very well – not sure if it was the caffeine from the tea (to which I am quite sensitive; it probably wasn’t necessary to have that much just to stay up ’til 2:30) or the excitement/chattering brain. Still, I am awake much earlier than I generally am on weekends. Good news: woke up happy to stick with the same plot.

Saturday, 2:15 a.m.

Okay, about 2,500 words done, and we’ll call that a night. My usual problems – I fear telling, not showing, and feeling a blushing burst of shame if I even believe I am partially guilty of it; and the sensation that the voice I was originally using has been distorted from page to page – still linger with me. But the story is, at the very least, progressing. Now is time for sleep.

Saturday, 1:45 a.m.

The cat wants to sit in my lap while I work. Is this a good thing? Often I am distracted by her. And she is just warm enough to make me want to sleep. We’re at 1,940. Bedtime with 2000 words? That’s about 1/15, which is pretty good pacing – thirty hours for a first draft, if I’m aiming for about 30,000 words.

Saturday, 1:00 a.m.

Okay, 870. That’s a better showing. Slightly. Sudden change in the last hour in the POV that I’m using for the bulk of the book. You guys know I love my POV changes. Can’t stick to one POV if you paid me. <Ashamed face> I stared first person in the face and it won AGAIN. The bulk of the novel will now be in the third person.

Saturday, 12:30 a.m.

Oh God, I’ve only done 377 words in the first half hour? That’s terrible! Also, I just went back and edited them! Also a terrible habit to get into! Am I doing too much telling, and not enough showing?

Responses

  1. Go Cat go!

  2. Oh I’m in suspense to know how this ends! You can do it 🙂

  3. Wow. That is insanity. I saw a website talking about the three-day novel challenge, but I couldn’t imagine anyone actually trying it. I mean, I did NaNoWriMo, but three days?

    • I think NaNoWriMo is a much different experience, though – I mean, you’re aiming for a longer end product; I don’t think what I produced for 3-Day would fall into the word count necessary to be classified as a novel. It’s more a novella, whereas NaNoWriMo, as I understand it, aims to produce something that’s more novelistic in length – 300 pages instead of 100?


Leave a Reply

Categories

