Posted by: oneyearbook | August 29, 2009

Another bug to be catching

Without fail, whenever something strenuous comes to an end, I always come out of it at least a bit sick. This time it’s a not-particularly-bad cold – I’m pretty prone to nasty sinus infection-style colds, paired with incessant coughing; this just has a stuffed nose, fatigue, and a bit of overall achiness. But of course it’s derailing my ambition to do much besides lie in bed with one of my go-to sick times books.

Anybody else have that experience, that reading a new book while sick is a terrible experience and that only an old, familiar companion can be brought to the sickbed? Right now it’s Pride and Prejudice, partly because I needed it to wash away the taste of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies; pretty often it’s some good ol’ Mary Stewart, who is so calmingly sweet and old-fashioned – even though a lot of her books would theoretically be classified as ‘thriller/romance,’ they have none of the edginess of a modern thriller, or, for that matter, the edginess of a modern romance, really. There’s a safeness to them that I find comforting. And I also like to read YA books when I’m sick. I have a pretty extensive collection of YA hopping around the apartment, and those books are always there for me when I need them. (What a bunch of teddy bears.)

What about you? What do you grab when the flu burrows into your back muscles and lies you out on the bed?

Responses

  1. In my mind, Georgette Heyer romance novels are so thoroughly associated with cozy sick-day reading material that I can no longer read one without feeling a little under the weather. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

