Posted by: oneyearbook | July 4, 2009

Sick day

Yesterday I had a bit of a sick day. I don’t know what it was – maybe the copious amounts of watermelon I’ve eaten over the last three days? maybe the horrible sticky heat that sat around in the apartment like an unwanted visitor? – but my stomach felt off all day, I was tired and stiff, and didn’t want to do anything but lie in bed. The boyfriend got called to an afternoon/evening shift at work, so I pretty much spent the bulk of the day, after sleeping in, eating breakfast, and returning to bed to calm my stomach, moping about and sweating and accidentally burning half of a batch of cheese tea biscuits. I still ate ’em, though. Waste not want not.

I have a lot of pictures of farms that I use for inspiration

I have a lot of pictures of farms that I use for inspiration

At about 8, when things really cooled down, I did manage to drag myself to the writing computer (it’s problematic when it’s hot, because I write with it on my lap, and it starts to heat up my lap too much) and pound out about 1,000 words, and make a few changes in the running outline that have given me a fresh burst of energy with regards to this section. Progress, you say? We’re at about 28,000 words in the second section and, no, it’s not quite done. But there’s really only about a scene and a half left to go, and then it’ll be time for the merciless first edit of this section. Already I have about fifteen things I know I want to do and a number of things that I know I should probably cut. I’m still hopeful that I’ll be ready to start that process at the end of this week, as long as you consider the end of this week to be Sunday.

Responses

  1. I do that too–look to pictures for inspiration. They help me focus in on what my characters are seeing. It reminds me what it would be like, if I was there…


Leave a Reply

Categories

