Posted by: oneyearbook | July 2, 2009

Holiday

So yesterday was Canada Day, which is a holiday and a day off work for us northerners. Now, this isn’t the first statutory holiday I’ve faced since I started this writing project, but I’ve worked through all the other ones without really considering why. This time I thought, hey, I’m a nice boss – I’ll give myself the day off.

Yay! Canada!

Yay! Canada!

Then I ended up sitting down and working through 3,000 words of a short story – so, a bit of a busman’s holiday.

In my own defense, it just had to be done – I’d come up with the idea for the story the night before, while we were out at one of the Victoria Jazz Festival events, and I needed to get at least part of it on paper before the inspiration faded away too much. But in the end it meant I didn’t really have the day off at all. Back to being a bad boss, I suppose.  I’ll try harder next time we have a holiday.

Responses

  1. My boss made me work too… look for yourself in the PNR tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

