Posted by: oneyearbook | July 1, 2009

Inspiration list

The Guardian runs these fun ‘top 10’ lists where they have authors list their top 10 books in very specific categories – like, top ten books with scenes featuring fruit, top ten subterannean books, top 10 Swedish crime novels, and so on. Usually the topic is related to the listing author’s work in some way.

Anyway, the most recent one is Edward Hogan’s top 10 out-of-town tales. This one I’m going to hold on to, because I think my novel would fit into that category, and I’m curious to see what other people do with it. There are lots of urban novels out there these days (I mean, there always have been – Dickens was the master of the urban novel), and plenty of suburban. I need to start reading those that focus on the rural, the smaller community.

From the list he gives I’ve only read The Lottery.

Leave a Reply

Categories

