Posted by: oneyearbook | June 21, 2009

How it feels

The other day I was walking home from the gym and was just buzzing with things to write down – scenes whipping through my head, phrases, connections, descriptions, bits of dialogue; not just novel stuff, but stuff for the blog, for other bits of writing I’m working on, etc. And I thought to myself, “How would I describe this feeling, this need-to-write?”

The answer, somewhat ironically, came to me in the form of a picture:

The writing explodes out of me

The writing explodes out of me

That’s what it’s like (except, you know, with a more ladylike hand) – light pressing at my fingertips, ready to explode out in wide, sweeping beam. That sounds not unlike internal combustion, but less painful.

Now, I know some of you are going to be wracking your brains, trying to figure out where this image comes from. (Those of you who are sappy romantics/were children in the early ’90s already know exactly where this came from.) Because I would hate to send you out searching for it, I’ve provided the explantory link, below:

Responses

  1. AGREED! That image totally conveys how I feel too, when an idea hits me and I feel the need to get it out onto paper… or Microsoft Word.

    (Btw, I totally knew that came from Beauty & the Beast even before I saw the YouTube video posted below!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

