Posted by: oneyearbook | June 15, 2009

The Writing Life: an interview series

I’m going to sporadically be interviewing writers about the intersection between writing and lifestyle in a feature I’m calling, not very creatively, The Writing Life. I’m not limiting this to published writers, either – but also including in that the people that sometimes call themselves “wannabe writers,” the ones that are toiling in the trenches, working towards the goal. I’ve always been of the opinion that the only qualification necessary for calling oneself a writer is to write.

On this blog the readership gets to see the intersection between writing and a very particular lifestyle: young & unencumbered. I have no job, no kids, no mortgage to worry about. The boyfriend can look after himself, after all. I pretty much fit the stereotype of the poor author slaving away in an attic* somewhere. This, as a lifestyle for an unpublished novelist, is probably not all that common.

To start – hopefully sometime this week the first two will appear, once I get around to writing the questions – I’ll be sharing interviews with two women who are working to balance a desire to write with the raising of children. Later interviews with include writers who grapple with the tyranny of the day job, writers in academia, and much, much more.

If you’re a writer, published or aspiring, and you think I haven’t yet covered your particular writing lifestyle, drop me a note in the comments and I’ll get back to you.

*Note: apartment is not literally an attic, but it is the top floor of a house, under the slanted eaves, and thus gives the impression of being like a garret. But larger.

Leave a Reply

Categories

