Posted by: oneyearbook | June 8, 2009

3-Day Registration Opens

Registration has now officially opened for the 3-Day Novel contest, which, as I said earlier this year, I intend to do this year for the second time. Labour day weekend this year is September 5-7, a time when I don’t foresee any particular blockages to my participation. I have a fairly well-formed idea that I’ve been kicking around for a bit now that I intend to run with during that 72 hours.

There’s also a community forum for discussion of the contest, online at AbeBooks, which during the year I did the contest really picked up speed during the contest weekend. (Further evidence that, for writers, the devil is in the Internet and its procrastination options.) Discussion so far ranges over whether it’s best to go in with a plot or to free-wheel it – last time I definitely had a plot, although I won’t claim it was a good one – and the following comment, which amuses me: “I prefer it to Nanowrimo. It’s over much more quickly.”

Ah, writing; it’s one of those activities that people yearn to do, want to do, need to do – and, yes, in many cases, like to do – but somehow it is also a type of punishment, and thus, best to be gotten over with quickly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

