Posted by: oneyearbook | April 21, 2009

Self-review

As an exercise, to focus my draft, I wrote a review of the novel. I like exercises like that – they allow me to describe the book as I think it should appear, with a discussion of plot, character, theme, style, and give me something to go back to after the first draft, to see if I’ve managed to do any of the things I’m hoping for. They also allow me to fantasize about success and pretend to be looking at my work from the outside, rather than the inside, where everything is all confused. I also like to do mock-interviews, where I’ll interview myself in my head, questions like “Where did you get the idea for that great plot twist in the middle?” And then I’ll come up with a plot twist to match that question. Some of my best ideas come from things like that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

