Posted by: oneyearbook | March 19, 2009

Thursday progress report

This progress report is a little early – I expect more will get done in the afternoon, especially in the area of brainstorming and thinking (as opposed to purely writing, which often doesn’t allow for thinking things through, as such) – but right now I am having chamomile tea and listening to the cat chirrup at the birds she sees out the window. There is something about those half-vocalized mews that sounds a little heartbroken – there is a catch her in voice, sort of, as if she’s lamenting the loss of each bird, whether as a companion or as a meal.

Anyways, I finished my 1,000 words (1,013, actually) by 9:45 this morning and I’m beginning to wonder if I need to change my daily goal. Everything I’ve been reading has suggested that a very speedy first draft is a good idea, and, knowing my own style leans towards a strong enjoyment of the editing and refining process, I can’t say I disagree. Alright, there it is, if I say it here I’ll hold to it: starting Monday I will do a one-week trial run with a 2,000 word daily goal. If it doesn’t work out for some reason, the next week I will renegotiate.

Word count as of noon today: 9,372

Percentage of those words that I expect to survive exactly as written in a second draft: 20

Number of times I have said, while writing those words, ‘Ugh, what a cliche’: at least 15

Leave a Reply

Categories

