Posted by: oneyearbook | March 11, 2009

What NOT to do

So some agents and editors did some twittering about how not to get published. I’m not a Twitterite (nor am I sure that’s the right way to refer to people who use Twitter), but what they wrote has since spread all over the web and it’s interesting reading. (Roundup of their main points here.) Some of my favorite failed queries to agents/editors:

“It will be a huge mistake if you do not publish this book.”

“I’ve queried more than 50 agents and have gotten nowhere and now I’m querying you.”

“Like my protagonist, I definitely could be described as overachiever, and I naturally have hair like Lady Godiva.”

“…contains a grand surprise near the end that the reader cannot grasp unless paying attention to the made-up language…”

I’ll remember not to include any of those phrases when I start querying agents with my novel.

Leave a Reply

Categories

