Posted by: oneyearbook | March 11, 2009

Farewells

So I have three days left at my job as a journalist before I leap off into the unknown of unemployment to become a starving novelist. I’ll have been working here for a couple weeks shy of two years when I leave and I am thankful for the experience I had there. For one, they were kind enough to hire me right out of school – in fact, I actually started working while still attending classes – and put me in the position to be stable enough to pursue the goal of full-time writing. Without that job I would never have been able to gather the necessary funds for this project.

It also had the advantage of introducing me to lots of interesting people and interesting stories, some of which have probably seeped into my unconscious mind and will come back out, twisted and garbled into grand new things, in my fiction. I have written about everything from airports to zebus and enjoyed finding out a lot more about municipal politics than it is probably necessary for anyone to know.

Also, it was a job that required that some days I just sit down, shut up, and write 3,000 words. (Today, for example, I finished off a 500 word story, followed it up by writing two 600 worders, added a 1100 word piece, and then polished it off wiht a brief 100 word bit.) That’s more than my schedule requires me to produce during a novel-writing day, and for that, I am thankful.

Responses

  1. As the person “kind enough” to hire you right out of school I’d like to say it was a smart move. However, I now realize that I must have overpaid you ….
    I do hope to see some of the quirky things that must have seeped in over the last two years in your novel.
    Now sit down and shut up and write – ha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

