Posted by: oneyearbook | February 22, 2009

Just wondering …

So after the last post, some of you are probably wondering: what’s the new book about?

Well, it does involve a lot of things I don’t know anything about, including the life of farmers in 1920s BC, mental illness, and being 75 in the 1980s. It does involve one thing I do know something about: working in a ‘living history’ museum, something I did for about a year when I was 18. From this list you can probably figure out that it’s a historical-esque novel set in BC, in two different time periods, with a senior citizen for a main character. Having previously made fun of myself for writing about things that are so far from my own experience, I can only say in my defence that a) things in my own experience would make a pretty mundane novel, and b) I’m now a lot more confident in my ability to do reseach. All the best writers are putting librarians in the acknowledgements section of the book these days, anyways.

Leave a Reply

Categories

